top of page
Poor Boy Blue Album Cover

Poor Boy Blue

Original Release Date: 


Original Label:

Steamhammer / SPV

Jim’s final studio album epitomised much of his career - a fearless spirit of exploration and musicality, combined with a melodic sensibility and lyrical deftness of touch. Joined once again by Steve Winwood and Gary Moore, this vibrant collection is one of the many highlights of Jim’s life in music.

"This is an exceptional album...a consistently superb performance from start to finish."

Keith "MuzikMan" Hannaleck,


01 Poor Boy Blue

02 Edge Of Love

03 Into The Void

04 Breathless

05 Getting Stronger

06 Secrets In The Dark

07 Long Legs

08 Scream It To The Dark

09 California Sunset

10 Bright Fighter

11 I’ve Been Changing

12 Now Is The Time


Produced by Jim Capaldi and Rene Tinner

All songs written by Jim Capaldi, except “Breathless”, “Getting Stronger” and “Long Legs” written by Jim Capaldi and Pete Vale; “Secrets In The Dark” and “Scream It To The Dark” written by Jack Green; “Poor Boy Blue” written by Jim Capaldi, Pete Bonas and Bryson Graham; “Edge Of Love” written by Leeson, Vale and Waters; and “Now Is The Time” written by Jim Capaldi and Lulu Santos.

Recorded at Can Studios, Wessex Studios, Basing Street Studios, Netherturkdonic Studios, Matrix Studios & The Old Parsonage

Engineers: Rene Tinner, Mick Dolan, Bill Price, Phill Brown, Jim Capaldi & John Taylor


Guitar: Steve Winwood, Gary Moore, Mick Dolan, Pete Bonas, Pete Vale, Roland Jones, John Mizzarolli & Steve McNerney

Slide Guitar: Sammy Mitchell

Piano: Chris Parren

Synthesizers: Chris Parren & Steve Winwood

Bass: Brent Forbes & Steve Kinch

Drums: Jim Capaldi, Trevor Morais & Bryson Graham

Backing Vocals: Jim Capaldi, Phil Capaldi, Stevie Lange & Pete Vale

Sleeve Design: Media Junction

Photography: Steph Wood

bottom of page