top of page

Open Your Heart: The Island Recordings 1972 - 1976

Original Release Date: 


Original Label:

Esoteric Recordings

The deluxe, remastered 4-disc boxset features all of Jim’s solo recordings for Island, covering the years 1972-1976. It includes bonus tracks, a DVD of BBC Old Grey Whistle Test performances and an illustrated booklet with essay.


Disc 1

01  Eve
02  Big Thirst
03  Love Is All You Can Try
04  Last Day Of Dawn
05  Don’t Be A Hero
06  Open Your Heart
07  How Much Can A Man Really Take
08  Oh How We Danced
09  Bonus Track: Going Down Slow All The Way

Disc 2

01  It’s Alright
02  Whale Meat Again
03  Yellow Sun
04  I’ve Got So Much Lovin’
05  Low Rider
06  My Brother
07  Summer Is Fading
08  We’ll Meet Again
09  Bonus Track: Tricky Dicky Rides Again

Disc 3

01  Goodbye Love
02  It’s All Up To You
03  Love Hurts
04  Johnny Too Bad
05  Short Cut Draw Blood
06  Living On A Marble
07  Boy With A Problem
08  Keep On Trying
09  Seagull
10  Bonus Track: Sugar Honey (Previously Unreleased On CD)
11  Bonus Track: Talkin’ About My Baby (Previously Unreleased On CD)
12  Bonus Track: Still Talkin’ (Previously Unreleased On CD)

Disc 4


Jim Capaldi Band - The Old Grey Whistle Test, 18th November 1975

01  Short Cut Draw Blood
02  Goodbye Love

Jim Capaldi & The Space Cadets - The Old Grey Whistle Test In Concert,30th March 1976

03  Low Rider
04  Love Hurts
05  Goodbye Love
06  Elixir Of Love
07  Boy With A Problem
08  Short Ends
09  Talkin’ About My Baby
10  Keep On Trying


Conceived, compiled and co-ordinated by Mark Powell

Additional co-ordination by Vicky Powell for Esoteric Recordings

24-bit digital remastering from the original Island Records master tapes by Paschal Byrne at The Audio Archiving Company

DVD authoring by Ray Shulman at iSonic

CD package design by Meriel Waissman

Grateful thanks to Aninha Capaldi, Paul Minkkinen and to Johnny Chandler, Chas Chandler and Olivia Persson at Universal Music UK, Denise Black and Simon Gurney at the BBC, to Phil Smee and to Paul Robinson, John Roberts, Adam Velasco and all at Cherry Red Records

bottom of page